FemmeFriday!

I am joining in on the FemmeFriday fun! I know that it’s normally Feminist Fridays, but this is a feminist blog, so everything is slanted that way anyway. More importantly FemmeFriday is actually something I picked up from fellow blogger who writes Books and Strips! The idea is to highlight some women, whether they are authors, publishers, running publishing companies or great characters.

I know we know some amazing female authors already, (yep, looking at you J.K. Rowling and Suzanne Collins!) but it never hurts to highlight some of those who are lesser known and awesome!

My first selection is Roxane Gay. She may not be little known, but I read Bad Feminist this summer before I started the blog and never got to recommend it to you all. This seemed like the perfect time to remedy that!

Gay is best known for Bad Feminist, which had been HUGE the year it came out (2014). It wasn’t until last summer that I got a chance to get my hands on it and it is among my favorite feminist writings. With so many opinions about what feminism is and should be these days, it’s hard to be a good feminist. You’re too radical or not radical enough, not intersectional enough, not pushing hard enough, not leaning in all the way or so far that you’ve fallen out of your chair, you’re too perfect or not trying hard enough, you’re
blaming the wrong people.
There is no singularly good way to be a feminist, but there are lots of ways to be a bad one.  We can’t be all things to all people all the time. But we can try to be something, we can be diligent and remember to do it better next time. We can remember that the world is made up of many points of view. We can learn what it means to not appropriate other cultures and other people’s words and experiences. We can learn to appreciate each other in spite of our mistakes.

The essays contained in this book are broken down into five major categories:

  • Me
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • Race and Entertainment
  • Politics, Race, and Gender
  • Back to Me

Every essay made me think about something new, something different.  Every essay was a reminder that we are in this together, even when we don’t understand each other and come face to face with the things that we have royally messed up when it comes to holding up other feminists and other issues. It’s better to be admit to being a bad feminist who tries to get it right and supports other people than pretending to be a good one who only really sees our own struggles.

This beautiful collection of feminist essays are not Gay’s only work either. For more
from this great writer, check out: An Untamed State and Ayiti. Also, keep a look for  Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body which is due out this June!

4 thoughts on “FemmeFriday!

  1. I’ve heard of the book but I’d never picked it up. I must though. Along with we must all be feminists. And everyday sexism. Have you read the other two?
    Thanks for joining in the FemmFriday fun. I really hope this picks up and more bloggers start doing it.

    Like

    1. It really is worth it. I did read we must all be feminists but not everyday sexism. I visit the everyday sexism website sometimes. Its interesting but depressing.
      I just loved the FemmeFriday idea! I can’t wait to see more bloggers pick it up too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t know they had a website. I’ll go check it out.
        Thanks. I was so appalled by that article. Something has to be done about it. Just has to! I do hope more people do the FemmeFriday.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

