Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik

Where do I begin?

Love, love, love this book! I also visited the blog that spawned it, and so should you!

As I mentioned previously, I’ve never read a book about someone I agree so much with before! Feminists aren’t required to agree on every point, and so I don’t mind when I don’t. I do here, on everything from the reasoning between why we should also put time into liberating men to why abortion should be legal and accessible. I loved her methods of bringing gender discrimination into view for the men she was around and that pregnancy should be treated like every other temporary disability. I know that it’s special, I’ve been pregnant too, but making it legally special would definitely be a misstep. And I love that she finds it necessary to be polite when she dissents and not totally put down the other side. I hate it when people do that. It makes it near impossible to come back to the point with level heads later.

I was rarely the first woman in a workplace that I’ve had or the only one, but it’s happened to me. I’ve experienced many of the annoying and awful things that are talked about here. I’ve had to be a little deaf too. I can appreciate her development from what we might call “impostor syndrome” to her quote in the book that:

It’s a hard job but I can do it at least as well as those guys.

I want a marriage like hers, and I know we’re making our way up that hill. Peer marriage isn’t for everyone, but it can be amazing and it can work. RBG and her husband are proof of that. I also loved the little joke that her husband and Former Associate Justice O’Connor’s husband shared about being part of the Denis Thatcher club, as men with wives in enviable jobs. Not that they seemed to actual envy their wives’ jobs.

Aside from it being an enjoyable biography, this is a great book to read for several reasons that are summed like this: It is the biography of a great feminist who has done substantial work for gender equality between men and women. That it was enjoyable to read or listen to was just a bonus. It also appears to be making it’s rounds among celebrities, other bloggers, and best of the year book lists. I hope you check it out!

I’m back to listening to fiction next with the second book in the Vampire Diaries series, The Struggle!

Leave a Reply

