The Happenings

Sorry for the long absence. I did realize, however, that I’ve been way, way less than attentive to this blog lately. I had given up the last one because of the heavy need for research and the tight schedule I’d made and promised myself not to do that again. But I also failed at being a fairly decent blogger.

Don’t worry, this is not about to be a belated resolution post, but I did come up with a better way to be a little more active without killing my schedule. I promise a monthly post on the happenings of my reading and some thoughts on how it all works with feminism.

What I’m reading:

I haven’t really started this one yet. I downloaded it on Sunday and am only a few pages in. 

The material seemed interesting and the introduction is promising. I had spent some time attempting  A Vindication of the Rights of Woman earlier in the month, but it’s the kind of book that must be read with minimal distractions and that’s just not my life right now. I am going to come back to it. The small amount that I did read through was incredible.

 

Okay, I’m listening to this one, but the method of taking it in is not the important part, right?

I’m almost done and I have loved it! I knew almost nothing about Justice Ginsburg before starting this book and have learned a lot through it. I have to admit that I have not so completely agreed with anyone on feminism, women, men, or life than the Notorious RBG.

The full recommendation should be out in a day or two when I’ve finished listening. But it’ll be after The Awakening (The Vampire Diaries, Vol. 1), which I actually listened to first but then got distracted from writing about while I was visiting with some family.

My Bible Project

So I started this off with good intentions, as you might recall. I am going to finish it. I’m just starting to doubt that I’m going to finish when I originally hoped I would and that’s still six years from now. This started in September and I was going to do a book a month, which should put me in Deuteronomy this month, but I’m  a month behind already. Then I looked at the Psalms and there’s no way that I’m getting through all that in one month. But I am going to persevere through it.

As it is, I’m in Numbers. This is not a particularly fun book. There’s a lot of information here that I wouldn’t dare call unimportant, but it’s not as interesting as the story pieces have been. As with a lot of the details in Exodus and Leviticus, the information here was meant more for the people of the day to act upon than it is for us, but I’m sure it lends a lot of perspective and references for what’s to come later.

I’ve only written one post for Numbers so far, and I’ve been working on the next one. I’m sure that anyone who reads that series of posts has already noticed the steep decline in references to both Wesley’s and Stanton’s commentaries. The world and the ways we practice religion has changed so much that it was much more difficult to find ground with either of them than I had originally thought. Even Bible translations have changed in that time, making Bibles far more inclusive of women than they were dealing with. Though these books still have misogynistic overtones, many have been dampened or reinterpreted since the aforementioned commentaries to remove much of what was there in the times of the commentators. Bible Hub has been incredibly helpful with several translations for anything questionable and the pre-translated text to get an idea of how things are written when language does get in the way.

Is anyone else attempting to read through the entire Bible? How are you doing in it?

Life and feminism:

Things should be getting back to normal soon. I have received my last guest and taken my last trip for a little while, which should settle things down enough to get blogging and writing back on track. It’s been a great few months, getting to see lots of people that we normally wouldn’t, but it’s also nice to get a breath in and get back to a routine.

That being said, I caught this week that Emma Watson was starting a book club called Our Shared Shelf on Goodreads which is about books on equality. I’ve joined it and the number of members is quickly reaching 100,000. There are a lot of discussions already going on and with so many members, I don’t have a prayer of keeping up with it. Nevertheless, I find it interesting and plan to check in occasionally and keep up with whichever book is chosen for the month. This month is My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem, which I’m sure is flying off the bookshelves now. I’m hoping to get it from the library soon, but will probably have to wait more than a month. Do you plan on joining?

This book club popping up also means that I must not be the only one overwhelmed by the amount of literature out there on gender, gender relations, and the sex of people. Some days I feel like I’m getting a good handle on this feminist reading thing and then other days I find an “essential feminist reading” or “best feminist books” that has a lot of books I’ve never heard of. There’s also a great tide of women writing about their experiences and biographies of great women of the past. Did I mention that I love fiction too?

I know, I’m a mess, but so is feminism. Everyone has a different opinion and many write books about it. There’s exclusive behaviors and inclusive behaviors of all kinds. There are people who call themselves feminist but don’t act like it and people who like it but don’t identify as one. There are lots of us that are just bad at it. Still, it’s no different from being a Christian, so I won’t complain about it. I’ll just keep plugging along, reading everything I can get my hands on.

What I’ve been trying to do lately and one of the reasons I had attempted to read A Vindication of the Rights of Woman, was write a post on the best historical feminist writing and then one about contemporary feminist writing, but it doesn’t seem like I’m well read enough for that yet. I’ve been reading about feminism for about two years and really thought I’d feel like I knew more by now.

Anyway, back to my reading!

4 thoughts on “The Happenings

  1. Sad to say I don’t particularly read books that are about feminism. Mainly because I don’t really read non fiction but also because I think I’m afraid that it’ll be too much to take in. I am a feminist but it isn’t exactly easy to be one anywhere, let alone in India. Glad you’re back though. Your posts should be something to look forward to.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I started with the non-fiction about two years ago and it is a lot to take in. I’ve really enjoyed them though. I’ve heard some about the situation in India with feminism but haven’t gotten into it further than few articles and some of the books that have a more global perspective, but even those tend to concentrate on a single population or type of problem that I’m sure don’t represent the whole of the Indian experience. I really appreciated the fixtion list that you had for that reason too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I usually read spiritual non fiction. Nothing else. But I’m planning on grabbing We Should All Be Feminists sometime this first quarter. I’m sure you’ve read it.

        Like

      2. I did and I love the TEDtalks Adichie has given! I constantly remind myself about the danger of a single story, not just with feminism but everything. I’ll have to check out your reviews on the spiritual non-fiction. Its a huge part of our lives.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

