Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano

 I’ve been trying to think for days of a professional and interesting way to write about this book, but I’ve been failing. Badly. I’ve actually written four posts on it and am not happy with any of them.

The reason is that when I read this book, it kinda made my head explode.

I know, eloquent, right? There’s just so much here and so much of it that I still need to work on. It’s easy to talk intelligently about books that cover concepts that I’m already a little familiar with, and this isn’t even my first book on trans people. Serano just does such an amazing job of breaking down the feminism within the trans perspective and then relating it to the majority feminist agenda.

I’d like to tell you all about it, and I could gush for days (just ask my husband), but I don’t think I should. I just know that I’ll mess something up and explain it wrong or not do justice to it. Just go read it. Or listen to it. Or however you want to devour the information.

But be careful. Expect to go back over sections more than once. Expect lightening to strike.

If you’re on the fence about it, here are some highlights of mine  and others, but seriously, just go read it. Then come back and tell me what you thought about it!

 

4 thoughts on “Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano

  1. I know exactly what you mean. When I complain about the lack of a really good book about non-binary or genderqueer people I always say I want a “Whipping Girl” for me. I’m hoping that CN Lester’s book will do that when it comes out.

    Like

    1. So, had to look them up and CN Lester is very interesting and now I can’t wait for that book either!
      I’m also planning on reading Serano’s other book, Excluded, when I get a chance. By the way, have you read Lisa Lees’s Fragments of Gender: Anatomy is not Destiny?

      Like

Leave a Reply

