Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Sometimes I think we would be instant friends if I ever met Mindy Kaling, but let’s be honest, I’d come off as an awkward, weird fangirl.

 She’s definitely my kind of people, though. Not shy about who she is and not going to change for you or the mythical guy that everyone wants to tailor women for. She knows who she is and that is an amazing thing to know.

This memoir of her youth and early career is fabulous. There are far more topics covered than I expected and she shares so much of her own insights and observations. As an aspiring writer, this is another book that gives me hope. All I have to do is sit down and write it and put it out there. Does that mean instant success? Absolutely not. But you know what cements failure, not doing anything.

Getting back to Kaling, here are some of my favorite topics that were covered:

  • her opinion of the song “Jack and Diane” – not everyone grows up that way, it is not as typical as people want you to believe
  • Best Friend Rights and Responsibilities – an awesome detailed list that I totally agree with
  • romantic comedies as a subgenre of sci-fi is genius
  • types of women in romantic comedies who are not real – this is a great list of character types that grate on my nerves sometimes too
  • I have definitely been too obsessed with personal safety to entertain the idea of casual sex as well. I know it shouldn’t be a problem but I’ve known far too many women who were raped while performing everyday duties to not be constantly on edge.
  • Married people need to step it up – it never occurred to me that the marrieds who talk to single people the most about married life might be the unhappy ones and would not be painting a very good picture of it all. I wish I could give her a hug and tell her how great it can be every single time someone else bashes it. I totally would.
  • I also loved this quote she gives from her mom –

As my mom has said, when on person is unhappy, it usually means two people are unhappy but that one has not come to terms with it yet.

Altogether, a fun read from an amazing woman!

Next up is Julia Serano’s Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity, get it at your local library or my astore!

Leave a Reply

