The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

This book first popped up on my radar when reading Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist: Essays. She mentions it and her recommendation prompted me to put it on my to-read list. I couldn’t be more grateful for it.

I’m not usually one for a thriller, so I have no basis to compare the expectancy of the twists and turns that the author takes us through. It did have a way of seeming predictable for a while and then changing something so that I would question my prediction so much that I wasn’t sure I was going to be right by the end.

Hawkins uses three female point of view characters to tell her story. Each one is someone that I might know, may have met, may have been at one time. As the story progresses and the reader begins to see the manner in which they will overlap, we also get to see deeper into their lives and the things that haunt them. It reminds us that we never know what part of the past might be haunting someone, that even the people we are most intimate with could be hiding something. It also reminds us that we are never quite sure what we are capable of.

If you’re searching for your next book and love full and complex characters, this is definitely what you should be reading! If you’ve already read The Girl on the Train, tell me what you thought of it! 

The next book that I’ll be listening to is Cress (Book 3 of the Lunar Chronicles), get it at your local library or my astore!

One thought on “The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Leave a Reply

