You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day

 While her name isn’t instantaneously recognizable to all people, Felicia Day does have a bit of a cult following. Her webseries, The Guild, had landed her some pretty awesome success and it was followed up by Geek and Sundry. Personally, I found her on Supernatural, specifically the LARP and the Real Girl episode because I had somehow missed her debut in the prior season (okay, I had gotten bored with the Leviathan storyline and drifted off, but I came back!)

Her character on the show was awesome and hilarious and I knew a bunch of people who referenced her other work to me while I stared blankly at them after we talked about it. I was never a gamer. I live slightly gamer adjacent. I am a nerd, though, and my work brings me close to other nerds and the occasional supernerd, but my nerd-style is Trekkie, not gaming. Nevertheless, Supernatural had peaked my interest enough to pick up this book when I saw it and I seriously couldn’t be more greatful.

While I can’t quite connect with her on gaming, the wonderful world of creating things is an entirely different story. I am 100% sure now that I am not alone in my neuroses about wanting to create things, my need for support and accountability because of my insecurity and the need for it to be perfect before I am even experienced. Felicia Day already went through all that and shared it with me, and you if you choose to read through it.

Though a memoir, she repeatedly encourages the reader to go create and do whatever they just can’t live without doing. She even includes caveats for things like being a murderer, which made me laugh because I always feel a need to caveat my writing to death. I loved this book and cannot express enough how much I appreciate the vulnerability she let out in writing it. This is a phenomenal woman who doesn’t let silly things like the institutions she is trying to get into stop her from doing what she loves to do.

She may not consider herself brave, but it certainly isn’t cowardice that prompted her to move to LA, it wasn’t cowardice that persevered past the denials of Hollywood into creating her own series from scratch. It’s funny how some people just go do what others are afraid to do and think that there was nothing to that part, the hard thing or brave thing to do is something else.

So that I don’t leave you thinking that she only talkes about the creative process, let me assure you that there is plenty about being homeschooled on the Gulf Coast, going to college way to early and having crazy demanding majors, getting stuck in a comfortable state of getting by, and Gamergate. Yes, Gamergate. One could hardly expect a book about a gamer that covers 2014 to not at least mention their stance and involvement. I’m not a gamer and I knew about Gamergate and more details than I wanted to, so of course it’s mentioned, but no, not dwelt on negatively.

For me, this was an inspirational kick to my creativity. Stop putting it off and write. Perhaps you’ll get something different out of it. Either way, it’s definitely a good read!

Now back to the Lunar Chronicles with Scarlet, get it at your local library or my astore!

Leave a Reply

