Cinder by Marissa Meyer

This takes fairy tale reimagining to a whole new level. Welcome to New Beijing and the world after WW4.

Can I just say how much I appreciate that it’s after WW4 and not WW3? Many of the futuristic, after a major world war books I’ve read focus on how the world that we know is destroyed irrevocably and is unrecognizable, but not this one. This is a world that has suffered greatly and changed, but is still basically the world we know. Why not? We survived the first two world wars in this fashion.

Anyway, we have a very different Cinderella here. From a geeky feminist perspective, this is the fairy tale reimagining of my dreams. We’re in a distant future with cool gadgets, Cinderella is a mechanic, there’s more to the ball than the prince looking for a wife, and more to the prince even getting married than finding a pretty girl at a ball.

There’s a lot more going on in this story than the Cinderella story that is it’s core. This has a plague, some political intrigue, social divides that go beyond the class problems of the original story, and a tie in to some of the other stories that I’ve never seen done this way before.

For me, this tie in to another fairy tale was so genius that it made me wonder why no one else had done this before, but I don’t want to spoil anything. I guarantee that you’ll see it when you start reading this, as I highly recommend you do.

I was absolutely glued to this story by the end of the first chapter and found any opportunity to listen for a little while until it was done. I am so excited that it’s a series and I can revel in these characters and this world for a few more books!

Here are the links to my reviews for the rest of the series: ScarletCressWinter. Plus there are Fairest and Stars Above.

 

7 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

