Jesus>Religion by Jefferson Bethke

I know I said that my next audiobook was going to be Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, but I was interrupted by an insistent request. My husband rarely asks me to check out a book he’s read, so I was intrigued that he asked me to listen to this book, suggesting that it may help with my Bible project.

This isn’t a commentary on the Bible or the life of Jesus. It’s a suggestion. It’s a thought process about the way we treat the Bible and the stories contained in it. It’s almost a reimagining of the way we look at both the Bible and those who profess to be Christian.

It’s easy to misinterpret and misunderstand when looking from the outside in. It’s even easier to take every word of the Bible out of context and use the individual verses to ridicule each other. It’s an entirely different thing to stop treating the Bible like a rulebook. That was my favorite part. Here’s the full quote:

The Bible isn’t a rulebook, it’s a love letter.

In my own attempt to take a look at the Bible and see for myself just how misogynistic it really is or isn’t, this is good to keep in mind. While not specifically feminist, the ideas that are here can start some toward that road. Perhaps it will only run alongside, but it definitely doesn’t cross it. People are people, we are flawed, we make mistakes even when our intentions are good and we can ignore the plight of some while focusing in on helping others. These are the same problems that feminists face when dealing with the difference between feminist issues and those who profess to be feminist.

If you plan to read the Bible, if you’ve read it already, if you don’t understand Christians, or have that feeling that what you see in church isn’t all there is to Christianity, this is a great place to start!

If you want to understand more about how women and feminist issues fit into all of this, check out Jesus Feminist: An Invitation to Revisit the Bible’s View of Women when you’re done!

Okay, now I’m going to listen to Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman on Audible, get at your local library or my astore!

Leave a Reply

