Anomaly by Krista McGee

While I did enjoy reading (listening to, actually) this book, I know it’s not for everyone. This is a dystopian story with some Christian overtones. Not all science fictions readers like their science with a side of religion. I don’t mind it, though this one did gets a little preachy at times. It’s mostly the use of the more popular Bible quotes that just ended up sounded cliche to me. But maybe it’s just me.

The hook was pretty good. Thalli, the protagonist, has 15 minutes to live but isn’t worried about it. It made me wonder why, especially becuase I didn’t know that it was Christian book until those overtones appeared. I had figured she could be not worried for three major reasons, she didn’t want to live anymore anyway, she knew she would be rescued, or death is just the beginning.

There were some pleasant twists and turns that helped move the story along and I was pleased with the way it ended. The addition of the epilogue was a master stroke by the author because it got me interested in reading the sequels. The end to the story itself was good, but it was a solid ending that didn’t make me feel like I had to know what else happened. The epilogue added a whole new dimension to the story for me. I look forward to finishing the series at some point, but I’m waiting for them on audiobook too.

If you enjoy dystopian fiction and don’t mind the religious aspect, this is a book for you.

Up next in fiction will be Shadows in Flight by Orson Scott Card! If you’re not familiar with it, this is the fifth book in the Shadow series. I read the others a few years ago but went through a long dry spell with fiction until recently. I’m excited to get back into these books. OSC is an amazing writer. Check out some of his other books here, get this one at your local library or my astore!

Leave a Reply

